Being Linga by Sridhar

Blog post by Sridhar Iyer

Every morning the priest opens the gate of the temple. He enters the sanctum sanctorum and I wait there with much anxiousness about the things to be done the whole day.

He starts praising me with holy mantras that without any hesitation I keep transferring to the lord of the universe, for whom I have been placed as a resemblance. He pours water on me, performs all the rituals to delight me. He decorates me with the best available flowers and spreads pleasant aroma around that I’m ready to meet my devotees again to uplink their prayers and downlink blessings. Finally, the priest fills the Copper Pot with water hanging over my head that showers water on me drop by drop as the holy Ganga.

Everything is well set and I’m ready for the devotees to arrive and listen to their heart. In sometime one devotee comes in and starts offering his prayers. He lie’s down and shows his respect. He goes round me in three forth and one fourth round. He has told he is going for an exam and he needs good marks in it, message transferred. Soon he takes a small pot on his hand and starts washing me with water. How can I say I have already taken bath. He leaves the sanctum after his prayers. The Alankar done by the priest washes away with the water.

Completely wet I was waiting for the next devotee, and soon a man comes in and again pours a huge amount of water on me than the boy. He extends his prayers to next level that he starts head-butting me. He was forcing himself so tough that I though now he will surely lift me and take me home.

Soon a lady came in. She looked so god fearing and so cunning. I heaved a sigh of relief seeing her as she was not carrying any pot with her to pour on me. The very next moment when she came closer to me, she surprised me by hugging me and kissing me. Even more than that her demand was of a diamond necklace from her husband.

I was not sure whether to transmit her demand to Shiva or should I get transferred to another place.

Jokes apart. There were many such demands in the name of prayers and offerings. Some washed me with milk and hit the beggars who sat outside the temple. Some sat near me for hours and hours, some gave me flying kiss from their bikes outside the temple. And this continued for whole day and was getting repeated every day.

Pray to God with love rather than to be fearing. Half of the problems are sorted out by your approach to it with full confidence and without fear. I’m there here as a messenger to Him and

surely for any of the needs He will come and help you out. But without your first step nothing is to be done.

Finally, Priest is appointed in the temple and the temple management pays him. He performs Abhishek, in the morning and that’s enough for me. Save water as there is a lot of demand for water for needy people around.

I can only take your prayers to the Divine, unfortunately the water goes wasted in the drains.

4 thoughts on “Being Linga by Sridhar

  1. This ‘Ling’ by Sridhar is a bit different view point echoed by the ‘Messenger of God’ and offering of garlands, Abhishekams and Archanas is a time tested practice performed over generations and surely Sridhar may be aware that these practices have been initiated and propagated by our venerable Acharyas of yore, a method of prayer or offering our thanksgiving to God which we the Hindus cannot trifle with ,with light-hearted comments, especially when, practitioners of other religions are viewing our religion with scant regard and a vast majority of politicians of Hindu religion , especially in the South, never miss an opportunity to abuse or decry our religion and your ‘observations ‘ may provide fodder to them. While Sridhar has every right to air his comments, that should not create doubts among sincere followers of our religion to have second thoughts as to how we should pray when, there is already much discord and disunity among various castes and sub-sects of our religion on account of our RELIGION alone . Let our actions be to promote unity and not to sow doubts.

    Like

  2. Good One sir, even i have witnessed similar special darshans & archanas in many big temples. But the idea to write as a Linga is only because of the insane things people do in the name of Offerings and Prayers.

    You can never see similar acts down in south India, as we still follow the rituals very strictly. None of the people are allowed inside the sanctum sanctorum. In the other hand, things are very much different in Central and northern parts of India

    Like

  3. It is a strange narration. But I will tell a short story (I won the first Prize at Borders in Cherry HIll, NJ-
    that should interest you. I am also a Tamil, an Iyengar from Triplicane, at that, but a retiree now in PB, FL).
    I wrote about the lesson my dad taught me- it was for Father;s day essay.
    My dad was a self made man, no schooling, an orphan at five, He and I visited the Lord Parthasarathy temple,
    it was not crowded and we stood during the Archana. There was a commotion and I saw a wealthy (the sarees, jewels and air of authority) walked in. They passed us all and into the front. The Bhattar restarted and when it ended, garlands were given away to them. I was angry and wanted to walk out but ny dad held me tight, till we
    got the theertham and chatari, a few leaves of Tulasi.
    I was fuming when it came out, My dad calmed me and commented, :Could we have out-tipped the Bhattaar?”
    That was a great lesson ofr me.
    I won the $20 coupon!! My Western wifem a Finn, who had asked me to submit, commented that there were not
    many competitors!!
    I al ways visit that temple, when it is not crowded, Rs,100 is not much luckily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good One sir, even i have witnessed similar special darshans & archanas in many big temples. But the idea to write as a Linga is only because of the insane things people do in the name of Offerings and Prayers.

      You can never see similar acts down in south India, as we still follow the rituals very strictly. None of the people are allowed inside the sanctum sanctorum. In the other hand, things are very much different in Central and northern parts of India

      Like

Comments

